2015 Reading Challenges

I have a saying, whenever I’m about to do something ridiculous or worrisome, or think I might be ‘weird’ — that “I cannot be the only person in the world who does/thinks this”. As it turns out, I am not the only person in the world who does reading challenges! So, although I’m a month and ten days late, I will be joining a few challenges to add some shape to my overall 50-book resolution. Goodreads – 50 books in 2015. That may not seem like a great number, but I really do struggle to stick to one book at a time and finish it before moving on to the next! If I speed through 50, I’ll really challenge myself and up it to 100.

Authors A to Z – so I don’t fall into the habit of choosing many books by the same authors!

  • 2015-authors-bannerA: Jean M Auel, The Valley of Horses
  • B:
  • C:
  • D:
  • E: Gretel Ehrlich, The Solace of Open Spaces
  • F:
  • G: Paul Gallico, The Man Who Was Magic
  • H:
  • I:
  • J:
  • K: Sue Monk Kidd, The Invention of Wings
  • L:
  • M: Patricia A. McKillip, The Bards of Bone Plain
  • N:
  • O:
  • P: Tamora Pierce, Terrier and Bloodhound and Mastiff
  • Q:
  • R:
  • S: Sharma Shields, The Sasquatch Hunter’s Almanac
  • T: JKK Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
  • U:
  • V: Brian K. Vaughn, Saga #1
  • W: Andy Weir, The Martian
  • X:
  • Y:
  • Z:

Alphabet Soup – similar, but quite different! I love the idea of this. First letter of the titles.alphabet-2015

  • A:
  • B: The Bards of Bone Plain, Patricia A. McKillip
  • C:
  • D:
  • E:
  • F: The Fellowship of the Ring, JKK Tolkien
  • G:
  • H:
  • I: The Invention of Wings, Sue Monk Kidd
  • J:
  • K:
  • L:
  • M: Mastiff, Tamora Pierce
  • N:
  • O:
  • P:
  • Q:
  • R:
  • S: Saga #1, Brian K. Vaughn
  • T: Terrier, Tamora Pierce
  • U:
  • V: The Valley of Horses, Jean M Auel
  • W:
  • X:
  • Y:
  • Z:

TBR Pile – well, to be honest, this was more or less the point of this blog! I will aim for ‘Sweet Summer Fling’, 31-40 books, as this is the primary focus of my reading this year. 2015tbrx250 The Chunkster Challenge – this was my new year’s resolution last year! Last year I wanted to read one book over 500 pages per month (but I failed miserably!). So — 12 books. I know I can do it this year! 2015 Chunkster Challenge 3

  1. The Fellowship of the Ring, JRR Tolkien (535 pages)

Women Challenge – I’ve noticed recently that I’m reading quite a few female authors by coincidence, so it would be nice to explore this trend further. Signed up to Level 4: Wonder Woman (20+ books). women3

  1. The Bards of Bone Plain, Patricia A. McKillip
  2. Saga #1, Fiona Staples (artist)
  3. The Valley of Horses, Jean M Auel
  4. Many books, Tamora Pierce
  5. The Solace of Open Spaces, Gretel Ehrlich
  6. The Invention of Wings, Sue Monk Kidd
  7. The Sasquatch Hunter’s Almanac, Sharma Shields
  8. Station Eleven, Emily St John Mandel

I will post individual lists for each challenge and update these as the reading progresses. And now, to the bookshelf! I’m quite excited to start planning for these challenges.

2015 Reading Challenges

One thought on “2015 Reading Challenges

Leave a Reply

